Vanderbilt back on my list

Today, I just received an email from Vanderbilt saying that they have actually received my application, while, in fact, I kept a near-finished application that I could submit for free (not exactly because there are supporting materials to submit) if any unforeseen circumstances happened. It so happened that I received an email from Vanderbilt while I haven’t quite submitted it yet, claiming that they have received it.

Dear students, (bcc to all applicants)

Thank you for your interest in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at Vanderbilt University.

This email is to acknowledge that your application to the Vanderbilt University PhD Physics program has been received and is being reviewed.

My name is Don Pickert and I am the Administrative Assistant to the Physics & Astronomy Graduate Program Committee. (GPC)

If you should need any help with your application or have any questions regarding it, you may contact me.

If any items are missing from your application or if the GPC needs additional information from you, we will contact you.

After re-checking Vanderbilt’s website, I made what adjustments was necessary, and then to submit the application in order to rectify the situation. I thought at first that, if they go to the trouble of sending me that email, I should at least be an interesting student to them, but, on the other hand, I would receive a rejection letter from Vanderbilt without having asked for it. Because I would otherwise cause headaches to Vanderbilt if I didn’t, and all I had left to do was fairly simple, I let my app list expand to 12. Let’s truly hope that there will be a happy ending.

Leave a Reply

